I was studying how to do cathedral windows quilt. I had bird fabric, placed the bird fabric inside of the pieced window panes. The pieced window frames were made from three different  shades of brown as suggested. My first quilt looked like the first quilt.

First cathedral quilt
I wasn’t satisfied with this look, so I got my fabric paints out and painted the birds and background blue.

After analysing the quilt, the bottom lower pane looks smaller. Let that sit for a while. We have a black feral cat in our backyard. Wouldn’t it be nice, to place the cat in the lower pane, add stuffing to add a three dimensional effect. The blue ribbon collar marries the background. 

Also painted on the outside the free motion quilting.

Next I got the light box and copied the black cat and reversed the cat and created another cat in upper left corner. 

