Anything worth creating starts with imagination. Our thoughts create. The time spent imagining new creative ideas may well be time spent wisely. I tend to use my imagination and spontaneously create after some research into the subject. I wonder though, is this the best way to use my imagination?

Why can’t I just slow down and spend some time examining new imaginative ideas?  Stretch my imagination.

Stretching my imagination? How does one stretch their imagination? I think by looking at other artworks would help. Drawing in a journal seems to help. Reading books. Noticing patterns in everyday life. Looking at light and shadow. Understanding the interplay of colors. Values in color. Hues in color. Finding beauty everywhere. Finding statements you want to express.

How do others imagine? I want to express myself in my art. I want to contemplate how I use my imagination.

 

